My year-long goal, 25 minute 5k.

Some people may already know this, but at the turn of the year, I decided to set a goal for myself when it came to running. I ran Cross Country in high school, finishing around 25 minutes on my best races, but after I joined marching band, I started gaining weight and pretty much lost any athletic ability when it came to running. I was up to 235 lbs at one point during my freshman year of college before I finally decided to try and be healthy again.

Running almost daily all that summer I got down to 185, and since then I’ve been hovering around 190, so, not too bad. Not where I want to be, but okay.

So, back to the goal. With all that running, I started to enjoy it again, and Jenn and I started doing 5Ks. Finishing around 30 minutes or so, running 3 10-minute miles isn’t bad, but I wanted to get back to where I was in Cross Country. So I decided I would run 3.1 miles in 25 minutes or less by 2009. Another important stipulation was that it had to be done in an official sponsored 5k, not me running by myself. I have to do it when it counts.

Not expecting a miracle, I’ve been working up to it gradually. In the past three 5ks running towards my goal, I’ve improvied on each try.

At the beginning of the summer I ran under 30 for the first time, finishing in 29:27.

On July 4th I ran a 27:17, a good two minute improvement.

Today in the VT Homecoming 5k I ran 26:29.

Only 1:30 left to shave off. I hope to do that on Thanksgiving in Greensboro. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Posted on October 5, 2008, in Life, Quick Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I am shooting for 27 minutes, bro.

Leave a Reply

