Summer Update

OK.  OK.  So I haven’t been updating since I moved back home for the summer from school.  I’m getting used to this whole 40-hour work week ordeal.

Yep you heard that right.  Jason has officially retired his plans to become a Professional Lifeguard and actually work in an office environment.  Casual khakis have replaced swim shorts.  Button downs have supplanted tank tops.  And shoes have replaced sandals.

I’m interning full-time at CoyneBeahmShouse in Greensboro, NC.  They’re an Engagement Marketing firm that specializes in helping businesses “engage” their customers in an effective way beyond the standard methods.  CBS, for short, does the whole gamut of services for some people, from brand management to package design to marketing strategy to website development.  It’s pretty intense.  Check out their website here.

I began work on May 12th, so I am in my third week now.  I have my own desk with a view of the lake where you can see a blue heron, a huge groundhog, a few ducks, and a plethora of Canada Geese.  Work was slow at first, so when I saw a snake swimming across the water on my second day, that was incredibly exciting.  I’m officially an intern in Account Management, so I spend my time putting in change orders, updating status reports, and attending meetings.  But lately I’ve been given more important tasks, such as writing briefs and soon my work will be sent on to a client directly and used.

CBS is a fun place to work, and I have good people looking out for me and assigning me tasks to do.  I’ve been given one or two research projects along the way, and it seems my research will be put to good use.  They even gave me my own phone extension, e-mail address, and business cards!

If I remember, I’ll take a picture of my workstation and post it up here.

Until next time……

Oh by the way, Jenn got a puppy.  Her name is Kenzie.

Posted on May 28, 2008, in Advertising, Life, Quick Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

