Goodbye 2006, hello 2007!

What a year, what a year, folks! To be honest, I’m a little upset to see my even-numbered friend be supplanted by a free-thinking odd-number. 2006 was a fantastic year, well, at least half of it was. We all know what I’m referencing, of course. Jenn’s made the past year completely worth it, from June to December it’s been a trip, and we’re going to keep it going straight into 2007.

2006 was all about growing up for me. It began with me in a real rut. I was getting lonely, and listlessness and boredom were becoming the norm in my daily life. One could say I was getting close to depression, considering the prior Christmas break was a real downer for me. I had good times though…Sea Turtles basketball, 49ers hoops, partying in Oak, jamming in the apartment, etc. I got a 4.0 gpa that semester as well, even though I would say my work was less than what I was capable of. That was a theme of 2006, doing things just well enough to be acceptable. With the exception of my relationship with Jenn, I spent a lot of the past year trying to feel strongly about anything. 75% effort is enough sometimes, but I wonder sometimes what it would be like if I gave 100% effort to everything. Would I start to care more?

After the semester, I came home to work over the summer at the pool, and most of us know the story from there. Jenn and I started flirting, we spent an awkward band concert together, and then she asked me on a date and I said “no” but eventually said “yes.” But I didn’t kiss her until the next day because I’m a horrible judge of whether or not I’m allowed. I could go on forever, but I won’t, because most of those who wanted to know the story, already do. From there on out, 2006 was incredible, and I’m only okay with saying “goodbye” because I know 2007 holds just as many surprises and adventures.

A New Year wouldn’t be anything with a resolution or two, so here’s mine:

1. I’m going to start caring more, and give more effort towards everything.
2. Play more guitar. I’ve been lazy about this for too long, I guess it goes with number 1, but I could be really good at guitar if I stopped half-assing it. Plus, it’s a lot of fun.
3. Exercise more and eat healthy. Easy.
4. Just be an all-around nice guy. More patient, understanding, caring, and willing to lend a helping hand.

So there you go, my New Years 2007 post.

Posted on January 2, 2007, in Life. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

